|
DISCLAIMER
Re-fraudulent
website on University of Nigeria
The attention
of the Consulate has been drawn to a website address purported to
be that of the University of Nigeria with a main campus and 37 satellite
campus inviting applications for the admissions to phony degrees
and with the prospects of awarding scholarships. The claims by the
website www.universityofnigeria.com is not only fictitious but fraudulent
as it aims at ripping off unsuspecting members of the public with
its spurious adverts and false promises.
It is our duty
to inform members of the public that the University of Nigeria is
one of the Federal Government-owned pioneer universities in the
country. Established in 1960 and located in Nsukka in South Eastern
part of Nigeria the University of Nigeria operates only one satellite
campus at Enugu, Nigeria and is one of the first rate universities
in the country. Admissions to the University is not conducted by
the University itself as indicated in the pseudo website, but by
a central examination body for all Federal Government-owned higher
institutions in the country, known as the Joint Admissions and Matriculations
Board (JAMB).
Members of
the public are hereby advised to discountenance this information
on the website and direct any further inquiry to the Consulate General
of Nigeria, New York or the University itself at the following address:
The Registrar,
University of Nigeria
Nsukka, Enugu State,
Nigeria.
|